The Daily News Service, the competitive edge you need. Insightful information about lotteries, vendors and the people who lead them -- Click Here


Want to know more than the headlines
Sign-up Now!

Return to Index

The World-Wide Lottery Guide is brought to you with the compliments of


National Lotto Authority (NLA)
Address: National Lotto Authority
Fortune House, Mills High Street, Accra-Ghana
Postal/Postboks Address: P.O. Box 506 Accra, Ghana
E-mail Address:
Phone: +233 30 267 8010-10
Fax: 233 21 668809
Population: 22.4 million (2006 est.)
Mrs. Janet Opoku Acheampong
Kofi Osei-Ameyaw
Year Lottery Founded: 1958
Sales FY 2013:
Sales FY 2014:
Sales FY 2015:
Sales FY 2016:
GHS 256,192,713
GHS 317,418,935
GHS 367,036,493
GHS 400,269,119
# Full Time Employees: 403
# Points of Sale: 8,600
Games Offered: Draw based games, VLTs
Beneficiaries: The objective of the NLA law was to provide care and protection for the physically and mentally challenged, the needy, the aged, orphans as well as destitute children in the country. It would also conduct, for the purpose of raising revenue for the nation and for other purpose stated in the Act.
Jurisdiction: Ghana, Western Africa

Background Information

The NLA Board was appointed by the President, H.E. John Agyekum Kufuor in accordance with Section 36 (2) of the National Lotto Act, (Act722).
Under the new national lotto Act (Act 722) the board is the only body empowered to conduct the business of lotteries in Ghana.
The Board is charged with regulating, supervising and managing the national lotto game, as well as ensuring the enforcement of laws relating to the national lotto in a manner that would promote a “win-win” situation for all stakeholders in the industry.
Under the new Act, the board is empowered to license all lotto-marketing companies for the distribution and sale of coupons, and for other purposes that it considered appropriate.
The authority is the only body to issue coupons both manual and electronic for lotto.
The Act states that no person shall import, sell, distribute or acquire for the purpose of sale any foreign lotto coupon.
The board is under the Chairmanship of Mrs Janet Opoku-Akyeapong, and has Mr. Kojo Andah, Director General of the National Lottery Authority (NLA), Mr. Enoch Hemans Cobinah, Ministry of Finance, Mr. Mumuni Adbulai Bawumia, Ministry of Interior, Ms. Cynthia Lamtey, Principal State Attorney, Attorney Generals Department, Hon Doris Seidu, Chripone Constituency, and Hon Kwadjo Opare Hammond, Member of Parliament as members.

Regional Lottery / Gaming News


This site is optimized for Explorer 4.0 & above and a monitor resolution of 1280 x 1024.
Please adjust your screen accordingly.
Interplay Multimedia Pty. Ltd.disclaims all liability for information provided within Lottery Insider.
Data supplied by named sources.
Associated Press content is Copyrighted by The Associated Press.
All other news articles are owned by their respective publishers.