Multi-State Lottery Association Board and Product Group Officers Elected for Fiscal Year 2025

July 5, 2024 | Government

JOHNSTON, Iowa (July 2, 2024) – The Board of Directors of the Multi-State Lottery Association (MUSL) unanimously elected Drew Svitko, Pennsylvania Lottery Executive Director, as Board President for Fiscal Year 2025. Svitko’s term as Board President began yesterday. He steps into the Board’s top leadership role after serving as Chair of the Powerball® Product Group for the past two years. Prior to that role, Svitko was Vice Chair of the Powerball Product Group from 2020 – 2022 and Chair of the MUSL Development Committee from 2019 – 2021. 

“The national games category has seen exceptional growth in the past two to three years, and it underscores MUSL’s commitment to support member lotteries with new development initiatives,” said Svitko. “MUSL has established a bold product development timeline with exciting new offerings. Lottery stakeholders should buckle up. It’s going to be another year of ‘foot, gas, go.’”

Matt Strawn, Iowa Lottery CEO, and Rebecca Paul, Tennessee Lottery President and CEO, will serve as Board Vice President and Secretary, respectively. David Barden, New Mexico Lottery CEO, will remain a Board officer for Fiscal Year 2025 as outgoing Board President.  

In addition, members of the Powerball Product Group unanimously elected Strawn to Chair the Powerball Product Group assisted by Vice Chair Gwen Dean, New York Lottery Director.  Strawn has been Chair of the MUSL Audit Committee since 2023 and led the MUSL Finance Committee from 2020 – 2022. He also served as Board Secretary and Vice Chair of the Lotto America Product Group last year

“Iowa has a proud history of Powerball leadership going back to the game’s founding in 1992,” said Strawn. “Since that time, Powerball has become a globally recognized brand that produces billions of dollars in annual revenue for the public benefit. It is humbling to have the trust of my colleagues as we work together to protect the brand and ensure the game’s responsible growth.”   

The Lotto America Product Group will be led by Chair Helene Keeley, Delaware Lottery Director, and Vice Chair Lance Gaebe, North Dakota Lottery Director. The Lotto America Product Group grew to 15 members last May, with the addition of the Mississippi Lottery and Nebraska Lottery. 

MUSL has established two new product groups in the past year as it works with member lotteries on the development of new product offerings. The newly formed Fast Play Product Group is preparing to launch its inaugural product, Jackpot USA™, this September. A National for Life Product Group has also been formed to explore potential growth in the “For Life” category. Tom Seaver, Director of the Colorado Lottery, will serve as Chair of the National for Life Product Group.

MUSL Board Officer

  • President – Drew Svitko, Pennsylvania
  • Vice President – Matt Strawn, Iowa
  • Secretary – Rebecca Paul, Tennessee
  • Past President – David Barden, New Mexico

Product Group Chairs

  • Powerball® Chair – Matt Strawn, Iowa
  • Powerball Vice Chair – Gwen Dean, New York
  • M2G2 Chair – Mary Harville, Kentucky
  • M2G2 Vice Chair – Mark Furcolo, Rhode Island
  • Lotto America® Chair – Helene Keeley, Delaware
  • Lotto America Vice Chair – Lance Gaebe, North Dakota
  • 2by2® Chair – Brian Rockey, Nebraska
  • 2by2 Vice Chair – Stephen Durrell, Kansas
  • National for Life Chair – Tom Seaver, Colorado
  • National for Life Vice Chair – James Carey, New Jersey

About MUSL

The Multi-State Lottery Association is a non-profit association that assists its member lotteries in multi-jurisdictional game development. Each MUSL member offers one or more games generally facilitated by MUSL, but retains its independent statutory duties regarding ticket sales, validation, retailer authorization, prize payments, income offsets, and other responsibilities.

SOURCE: Press Releases, Insights Weekly.