Loterie Nationale Burkinabé (LONAB)

Address: 436 rue du Grand Marché 01- B.P. 68 OUAGADOUGOU, Burkina Faso
Phone: +226 25 33 36 36
Lottery Established: 1967
Director General: Mr. Simon T. TARNAGDA
Number of Employees: 337
Number of POS: 1,331
Games Offered: Instants / Sports Game (pari-mutuel)
Beneficiaries: Education, sports, other good causes
Jurisdiction: Kurkina Faso, West Africa.

About Loterie Nationale Burkinabé (LONAB)

The Loterie Nationale Burkinabè (LONAB) is located at 436 rue de la chance and was created by ordinance N ° 67025 / PRES / MFC of May 10, 1967, with the name Loterie Nationale Voltaïque (LONAVO). The current name Loterie Nationale Burkinabè (LONAB) dates from 1984, ordinance N ° 8443 / CNR / PRES of August 02, 1984.
From the Public Establishment of an Industrial and Commercial nature (EPIC), it has been transformed since November 1994, into State company under the supervision of the Ministry of Economy and Finance.
With a share capital at the creation in 1967, of six million francs (6,000,000 FCFA), entirely financed by the State in the form of material and logistical means, the share capital today has reached the sum of one billion francs (1,000,000,000 FCFA).


  • Creation of LONAB in 1967;
  • Traditional lottery with periodic draw (monthly) from 1967 to 1995;
  • Tranche Commune Entente (TCE): from 1970 to the present;
  • Scratch tickets commonly known as Tombola Minute Plus (TMP), from 1978 to the present;
  • Draw lottery (6/49) from 1983 to 1984;
  • Pari Mutuel Urbain (PMU’B) from 1990 to the present;
  • Easy lotto (draw lottery game) from 1997 to 2000;
  • Millionaire become multimillionaire after a year of launching, from 1994 to 2005;
  • Toto score (sports bet) from 2000 to 2001;
  • Live Race Areas (ECD) from 2007 to the present constitute a variant of PMU’B.
  • “Win the TV jackpot” game, from 2007 to 2011;
  • “Tele fortune” scratch tickets launched in March 2013