New Jersey Lottery Announces Dr. Munr Kazmir as Newest Member of the New Jersey Lottery Commission

July 8, 2023 | Lottery News

TRENTON, NJ (July 7, 2023) – The New Jersey Lottery announced that Dr. Munr Kazmir has beeen sworn in as the newest member of the Lottery Commission. Commissioner Kazmir of Closter in Bergen County was nominated to the post by Governor Murphy in March and was sworn in on Tuesday, June 27, prior to the June Lottery Commission meeting. He previously served as a Commissioner from 2001 to 2013.

Commissioner Kazmir graduated from the University of Punjab with an M.B.B.S./M.D. He completed an Internal Medicine Residency at Downstate Health Sciences University, an Internal Medicine Internship at the White Plains Hospital/Montefiore Medical Center, as well as at Methodist Hospital and Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas. Additionally, Kazmir holds two honorary degrees: a Ph.D. in Political Science and Government from Dankook University, as well as an Honorary Doctor of Laws from the Rabbinical College of America. 

Kazmir is CEO of three separate organizations: Quality Homecare Providers, a supplier of home medical equipment and medical supplies; Direct Meds Inc., a prescription mail-in and home delivery service; and American International School System, a coeducational private school in Pakistan providing an American based curriculum for students in Pakistan and other sub-continent countries.

Over the years, Kazmir has served on a number of different boards including, the Board of Governors of the Republican Jewish Coalition, the American Jewish Congress, and Chabad House.  In New Jersey, he has also served on the Board of Trustees of Liberty Health Systems and is a former Chairman of Liberty Health Systems Foundation, and he is a former Trustee of the Hackensack University Hospital Foundation.

The other Lottery Commissioners currently serving are: Chairman Robert J. D’Anton of Lavallette, Vice Chairman Ian K. Leonard of Camden, and Marilyn T. Blazovsky of Princeton.

The bi-partisan Lottery Commission consists of seven members, including the State Treasurer and the Director of the Division of Investments, serving as ex officio members, and five public members, appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. The public members are each appointed for a term of five years and are non-salaried. The New Jersey Lottery’s Chief Operating Officer is the Executive Director who also serves as Secretary to the Commission.

SOURCE: New Jersey Lottery.

Tags: , ,