Governor Appoints Former Legislator to Montana Lottery Commission

August 20, 2023 | Government

HELENA, Montana (August 18, 2023) – Governor Greg Gianforte has appointed Janna Taylor of Dayton to the Montana Lottery Commission.

Taylor served in both bodies of the Montana Legislature between 2005 and 2015, including leadership positions as Speaker pro Tempore of the House and Majority Whip of the Senate.

Montana Lottery Director Scott Sales, who worked with Taylor in the Legislature, praised her appointment as a win for the Lottery.

“The new Commissioner Taylor has a proven record as a dedicated public servant,” said Director Sales. “I welcome her to the Commission and look forward to working with her again, this time to maximize the positive impacts of the Lottery.”

The Montana Lottery Commission is comprised of Montanans appointed by the Governor to approve games and contracts, establish policy, oversee operations and maximize net revenue paid to the state.

By law, Montana’s Lottery Commission consists of five members appointed by the Governor. Taylor replaces Dwaine Iverson, who resigned to accept another state government appointment.

The Montana Lottery was created by citizen’s referendum in 1986. Since then, it has paid over $853 million in prizes and returned approximately $320 million to the State of Montana and $90 million in sales agent commissions.

SOURCE: The Montana Lottery.

Tags: , , ,