The Federal Casino Commission Welcomes Two New Members in 2024

November 29, 2023 | Casinos

Eidgenössische Spielbankenkommission ESBKBern, November 24, 2023 – At its meeting on November 22, 2023, the Federal Council elected Cathrine Konopatsch and Anna-Maria Sani as members of the Casino Commission. You will succeed Marianne Lehmkuhl and Hansjörg Znoj, whose terms of office expire after twelve years.

On the occasion of the overall renewal of the extra-parliamentary commissions for the legislative period 2024 to 2027, the Federal Council appointed Cathrine Konopatsch and Anna-Maria Sani, who will take up their position as members of the Federal Casino Commission (ESBK) from January 1, 2024.

Cathrine Konopatsch is an assistant professor of criminal law at the Faculty of Law at the FernUni Schweiz and a lecturer at the University of Bern. Anna-Maria Sani, psychologist and psychotherapist, is co-head of the Research Institute for Gambling (IRGA) and advises casinos in the areas of training and player protection. It occupies the legally designated seat with special knowledge in the area of ​​addiction prevention.

Cathrine Konopatsch and Anna-Maria Sani replace Marianne Lehmkuhl and Hansjörg Znoj, both of whom were appointed on January 1, 2012. They have enriched the commission with their knowledge of criminal law and psychology. The ESBK thanks them for their expertise and the work they have done over the last twelve years.

Fabio Abate, President of the Commission and Adrian Amstutz, Vice-President, were confirmed in their positions; Maurice Tornay, appointed in 2020, also remains a member of the Commission.

Address for inquiries

Charlotte Schläpfer, communications specialist, T +41 58 465 63 15,
Marjorie Stangl, communications specialist, T +41 58 466 34 16,

SOURCE: Federal Casino Commission.

Tags: , ,